Bimmerpost
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Technical Topics iDrive, Nav, Phone, Audio, Video, Cameras, Electronics Which navigates better, BMW's Nav or Waze?

02-22-2020, 09:23 PM   #1
TheRetroGuy
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 330i xDrive mSport

Which navigates better, BMW's Nav or Waze?

I'm still learning (and getting used to) all the gadgets in my G20, and aside from short trips haven't really had a chance to put Waze vs. BMW nav to the test.

Just wondering which one navigates better overall? I'm sure they're neck and neck in many situations. I would tend to prefer using the in car nav to route, while using Waze for alerts (mostly for the benefit of the arrows on the HUD and the mini map in the gauge cluster).

But I've heard some say the traffic is better in Waze. Does this hold true even if I keep the hotspot subscription active (not sure if it receives all the traffic data via satellite or if Internet access to the car improves that).

Are there pros or cons to one or the other (with regard to routing I mean) or do they all route you to the destination just as effectively?
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2020, 09:43 PM   #2
Burrcold
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 2024 M3 Comp xDrive

Waze is much better. Real time traffic is more up to date, and the re-routing is so much better. Sucks that we can't see the turn by turn on the HUD though.
Appreciate 1
      02-22-2020, 09:47 PM   #3
VipinLJ
Petrolhead
United_States
Rep
Drives: ‘20 330i,‘16 X3,‘18 SQ5,‘17 A7

My wife and I had this exact discussion today on a 1.5hr drive. We almost always use waze on her phone and the nav in the car set simultaneously. 100% of the times, both waze and the nav showed the same routes.