Bimmerpost
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
Technical Topics B48 4-Cylinder Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications Drivetrain malfunction with DME unlock with JB4, now trying Bootmod3

12-12-2023, 09:14 PM   #1
Dilber
Kame Society YT Channel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 BMW 330i (G20)

Drivetrain malfunction with DME unlock with JB4, now trying Bootmod3

I've been running JB4 for about 2 years now and haven't had any success reading or clearing codes (also my remote start didn't work either). So I decided I wanted to switch to Bootmod3.

After getting my DME bench unlocked, I installed the ECU back in thinking that I'll be able to run JB4 still. I reconnected my battery, saw a "Drivetrain failure" error, and couldn't start the car.
So... might as well install Bootmod3 now to clear whatever codes there were and run the tunes I wanted, right?

While I had the battery disconnected, I removed my JB4 unit and then replugged the two connectors that I had removed originally.
I installed first the stock tune, cleared my codes and still had the same error. I've included a picture of all my codes but here they are as a list too:
  • 123701 - Electrical wastegate, position sensor, electrical: Short circuit to positive
  • 119113 - Rail pressure sensor: short circuit to plus
  • 191004 - tank vent valve, control: line break
  • CD9001 - LIN, communication (charge air coolant pump): missing
  • 12B103 - Heating Lambdasonde1 bank1, control: line break
  • 164020 - intake camshaft sensor, electrical: short circuit to positive
  • 164030 - exhaust camshaft sensor, electrical: Short circuit to positive
  • 102A58 - intake air temperature sensor after air filter: Substitute reaction

Some of these might be from mods that I've done.