Bimmerpost
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2019+ BMW 3 AND 4-SERIES FORUMS (G2x Generation) Local Forums UK Sport Xtraboost mode vs gear lever to M\S ....

09-20-2021, 02:12 PM   #1
330 bimmerman
Enlisted Member
Ireland
Rep
Drives: 330e xdrive

Sport Xtraboost mode vs gear lever to M\S ....

Hi Im new to automatics and loving the 330e for performance with economy

I know the sport mode button and xtraboost gives full power with suspension and steering tighter but do you get same throttle response and power if just hit the gearstick to the left i.e M\S setting and what is impact of doing both I.e to for sport and xtraboost?

Only started messing with settings( normally in D and sport mode and xtraboost for when want full power) and not really got chance in daily commute to trial much with gear selector to left for different drive modes but interested in other 330e owners (or others if same in other models? ) to see if need both lever to left in sport and sport button to get getting full impact or do you get same full 292bhp by flicking gear lever to left regardless of driving mode e.g .hybrid. or sport?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2021, 03:42 PM   #2
marksandygill
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: G20 320d xDrive F22 M240i

Can't remember exactly, think you get the full beans in sports mode, xtraboost mode or normal mode with the gear selector in S/M?

If you want the whole 9 yards, go for xtraboost mode, gear selector in sports and traction off so it doesn't reduce power
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2021, 05:11 AM   #3
330 bimmerman
Enlisted Member
Ireland
Rep

thanks ,
still learning different setups and notice difference in throttle response when gear selector in S/M and holds revs alot higher.

So if understand right regardless of drive mode i.e Hybrid or Sport when gear selector in S/M you only get 252BHP and need xtraboost mode for the full 292hp. The S/M gear selection just allows higher revs and user management -via paddle shifts.