Bimmerpost
3
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
Technical Topics DIYs and Coding Discussions Anti-dazzle coding on Laser?

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-17-2022, 06:19 AM   #309
kubax86
Brigadier General
kubax86's Avatar
No_Country
1799
Rep
3,062
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: World

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Restrected View Post
I apologize for being a complete noob but i have my coding setup ready and it does code properly. What do i do? i have a 2020 330i. when you turn on the car the lights self level so i am assuming i can enable this?
This can be done if you have 552 or 5AZ option which means either Adaptive Headlights or Laser Headlights
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2022, 02:16 PM   #310
xnick101
Captain
652
Rep
820
Posts

Drives: 2021 BMW X3 M
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 BMW M340i  [0.00]
Has anyone figured out how to do this with Bimmercode? There's a video on youtube on how to enable anti-dazzle headlights on an X5. Potentially similar on our cars.
__________________
2014 BMW 335i M-Sport - SOLD
2020 BMW M340i - SOLD
2021 BMW X3M
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2022, 03:56 PM   #311
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2374
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xnick101 View Post
Has anyone figured out how to do this with Bimmercode? There's a video on youtube on how to enable anti-dazzle headlights on an X5. Potentially similar on our cars.
Not possible on Bimmercode because you do not have access to FLM or KAFAS.
Appreciate 1
xnick101651.50
      05-12-2022, 10:31 AM   #312
dantwaddell
Registered
United_States
5
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW M340xi
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Bethlehem, PA

iTrader: (0)

xnick101 I successfully coded it using only Bimmercode. The FLM (front lighting module) items are available in the BDC (Body Domain Controller) section for Bimmercode with the G20. The KAFAS items are not changeable, however, so optimization for staying on longer with street lights / signs isn't possible; you'll need Esys for that. But basic functionality plus some parameter editing to improve performance is possible.

Basic functionality is in BDC section with the following changes:
Code:
PARAMETER						US VALUE			ECE VALUE
C_HBA_DIM_ENA:					disable [00]			enable [01]
C_HBA_GFHB_ENA:				disable [00]			enable [01]
As siegester mentioned on page 7, the following parameters improve performance:

Code:
PARAMETER						US VALUE			ECE VALUE
C_AFS_ECO_LEVEL_3_ENA			disable [00]			enable [01]
C_AFS_ENA						disable [00]			enable [01]
C_BLC_PRE_ENA					disable [00]			enable [01]
C_CLC_CURV_V2					US [3C]				ECE [23]
C_CLC_CURV_V3					US [46]				ECE [28]
C_CLC_EXT_ENA					disable [00]			enable_roundabout [01]
C_HBA_DIM_ENA					disable [00]			enable [01]
C_HBA_GFHBA_ENA_V_HI			55km/h [37]			standard [3C]
C_HBA_GFHB_ENA				disable [00]			enable [01]
LUT_AFS_CODRV_HOR			Laser_US/G007_US	standard/init 
LUT_AFS_DRV_HOR				Laser_US			F040_G005_AHL/G015_G020_Laser
LUT_FLC_FORWARDLIGHTING_Y	no_AFS [00 00 14]	AFS [00 00 00]
The one deviation I made was to set C_HBA_GFHBA_ENA_V_HI to the lowest speed (I think 47 kph). I believe this makes it turn the highbeams on at a lower speed. I confirmed mine turns on at about 30 mph. Note that when you are testing, the system will not fully engage at lower speeds or if there is enough ambient light from street lights (it may just be regular on/off high beams for those cases). So go somewhere that's actually dark to confirm performance. I was fooled a few times while changing settings thinking it wasn't working.

I find that it works quite well. The highbeams definitely tunnel around cars that I'm following, and turn off for opposing traffic while still staying on in my lane.

I am driving a 2022 M340xi (North America).

Last edited by dantwaddell; 05-12-2022 at 10:37 AM.. Reason: adding detail
Appreciate 3
      08-15-2022, 05:33 AM   #313
kamil97
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW G20
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

I don't see any options in BDC_BODY3 Lamaster 1/2/3
My car: BMW G20 2020 with laser lights.
Has any one of you experienced this ?
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2022, 02:36 AM   #314
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2374
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kamil97 View Post
I don't see any options in BDC_BODY3 Lamaster 1/2/3
My car: BMW G20 2020 with laser lights.
Has any one of you experienced this ?
There are many options in E-sys with BDC. You must be doing it wrong.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2022, 10:34 PM   #315
homerjay
New Member
10
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: F15 X5 / G20 330i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Followed the instructions here, but I FUBARd my BDC_BODY3 coding. Error message after coding complete on this ECU and No lights, turn signals.

When I tried coding back to the original, the attached screenshot is the error I received.

Running Launcher Pro 5.1
E-Sys 3.40.2
PSdzDATA 4.36.71

US-spec 330i with laser lights.

i-level on my car is 03/2021.50
Selected S18A when connecting to my car.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2022, 02:13 AM   #316
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2374
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by homerjay View Post
Followed the instructions here, but I FUBARd my BDC_BODY3 coding. Error message after coding complete on this ECU and No lights, turn signals.

When I tried coding back to the original, the attached screenshot is the error I received.

Running Launcher Pro 5.1
E-Sys 3.40.2
PSdzDATA 4.36.71

US-spec 330i with laser lights.

i-level on my car is 03/2021.50
Selected S18A when connecting to my car.
When you read ECU, are you missing cafs or are any corrupted? You may need to inject.
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2022, 07:09 AM   #317
homerjay
New Member
10
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: F15 X5 / G20 330i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
When you read ECU, are you missing cafs or are any corrupted? You may need to inject.
It appears to be corrupt when I select “Read ECU”.
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2022, 04:58 PM   #318
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2374
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by homerjay View Post
It appears to be corrupt when I select “Read ECU”.
That would explain functions not working. You need to inject CAFs to fix.
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2022, 10:01 PM   #319
smithf80
Major General
smithf80's Avatar
United_States
2811
Rep
5,316
Posts

Drives: G80 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2022 G20 330i  [9.00]
2018 F80 M3  [9.75]
Anyone have issues with Auto high beams just shutting itself off? As in you need to re-enable it with the button on the stalk. it happens randomly, sometimes I turn it on and it just right back off and it takes 2-3 tries before it "stays" on.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2022, 08:36 AM   #320
homerjay
New Member
10
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: F15 X5 / G20 330i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
That would explain functions not working. You need to inject CAFs to fix.
Luckily got in touch with Steve at codemybimmer and got me back up that morning. GREAT service! I had some issue with Launcher corrupting my system 🤷*♂️
Appreciate 1
Jbrock22221.50
      08-26-2022, 04:12 PM   #321
Max Caviar
Private First Class
53
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: '23 M440i GC Tanzanite Blue
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

My order is still pending production. But the "standard equipment" listed includes "Decoding for no-dazzle hgh bm."

Does that mean that after market coding won't be needed to get full functionality?
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2022, 05:03 PM   #322
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2374
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Caviar View Post
My order is still pending production. But the "standard equipment" listed includes "Decoding for no-dazzle hgh bm."

Does that mean that after market coding won't be needed to get full functionality?
Decoding = disabling
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2022, 09:37 PM   #323
Wackjam
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: M340i xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithf80 View Post
Anyone have issues with Auto high beams just shutting itself off? As in you need to re-enable it with the button on the stalk. it happens randomly, sometimes I turn it on and it just right back off and it takes 2-3 tries before it "stays" on.
I've been having this issue too. Not sure what the fix is. It's a bit annoying.
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2022, 11:22 PM   #324
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2374
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithf80 View Post
Anyone have issues with Auto high beams just shutting itself off? As in you need to re-enable it with the button on the stalk. it happens randomly, sometimes I turn it on and it just right back off and it takes 2-3 tries before it "stays" on.
Have you tried coding back to factory settings to see if issue is still present?
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2022, 03:31 PM   #325
Max Caviar
Private First Class
53
Rep
153
Posts

Drives: '23 M440i GC Tanzanite Blue
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

thank you. will look into bimmercode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Decoding = disabling
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2022, 10:23 PM   #326
tomz17
Second Lieutenant
35
Rep
286
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340xi
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by homerjay View Post
Luckily got in touch with Steve at codemybimmer and got me back up that morning. GREAT service! I had some issue with Launcher corrupting my system 🤷*♂️
FYI, for anyone in the future reading this. I had the same experience and completely jacked up the BDC config. Was able to inject the default CAFD using esys (launched directly, without any launcher), then proceed with FDL coding using esys+launcher. As a reminder, if you get into trouble, you can always VO code a module with just vanilla, unpatched esys.

From googling around, I suspect this may be a JVM memory issue since it only affected BDC for me while VO coding the entire module (after removing the anti-dazzle decoding). Everything else worked fine.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2022, 08:40 PM   #327
Liquid_Ice
Second Lieutenant
United_States
167
Rep
254
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M340i xDrive
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I coded anti-dazzle this weekend on my 2020 M340i xDrive. I had a similar problem to tomz17 and homerjay, I should not have VO coded using Launcher Pro, was told to only use Launcher Pro for FDL Coding and use Esys by itself (no launcher) for VO Coding.

I provided 2GB to the JVM using Launcher Pro and still had issues so I don't think it was a JVM memory issue. There seems to be something wrong with reading and coding all of BDC when using Launcher Pro, maybe some kind of bug? I wonder if it would have happened with BimmerUtility.

I did the VO coding first then used the Cheat Codes from siegester for FDL coding anti-dazzle in KAFAS4 and BDC_BODY3.

Anyway - drove home tonight and wow anti-dazzle is awesome, I wish I had done this back when I first got the car instead of waiting 3 years to do it. Definitely makes buying the Laser Lights worth it.

It still turns off sometimes, but the highbeams stay on way more often and definitely help with visibility.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2022, 09:05 PM   #328
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2374
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid_Ice View Post
I coded anti-dazzle this weekend on my 2020 M340i xDrive. I had a similar problem to tomz17 and homerjay, I should not have VO coded using Launcher Pro, was told to only use Launcher Pro for FDL Coding and use Esys by itself (no launcher) for VO Coding.

I provided 2GB to the JVM using Launcher Pro and still had issues so I don't think it was a JVM memory issue. There seems to be something wrong with reading and coding all of BDC when using Launcher Pro, maybe some kind of bug? I wonder if it would have happened with BimmerUtility.

I did the VO coding first then used the Cheat Codes from siegester for FDL coding anti-dazzle in KAFAS4 and BDC_BODY3.

Anyway - drove home tonight and wow anti-dazzle is awesome, I wish I had done this back when I first got the car instead of waiting 3 years to do it. Definitely makes buying the Laser Lights worth it.

It still turns off sometimes, but the highbeams stay on way more often and definitely help with visibility.
A token is not required for VO coding, but using Launcher should not cause any issue.

Launcher Pro has outdated mapping, so better to use Bimmer Utility for FDL coding.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2022, 06:58 AM   #329
Liquid_Ice
Second Lieutenant
United_States
167
Rep
254
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M340i xDrive
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
A token is not required for VO coding, but using Launcher should not cause any issue.

Launcher Pro has outdated mapping, so better to use Bimmer Utility for FDL coding.
Agree it shouldn't cause any issues, but I had no success re-injecting the BDC_BODY3 CAFD's when using LauncherPro (and I corrupted them when using LauncherPro) - but switching to ESYS with no Launcher everything worked fine - so I suspect an issue with LauncherPro.

I was using E-Sys 3.38.2, LauncherPro 5.2.0, PSdZData_Lite_v4.37.42

shawnsheridan was the one who recommended using ESYS with no launcher for VO coding and using a Launcher for FDL coding only.

Wish I knew about BimmerUtility before I paid $50 for LauncherPro (I just bought LauncherPro on 10/14/22)

Last edited by Liquid_Ice; 10-19-2022 at 07:09 AM..
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2022, 03:02 AM   #330
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2374
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid_Ice View Post
Agree it shouldn't cause any issues, but I had no success re-injecting the BDC_BODY3 CAFD's when using LauncherPro (and I corrupted them when using LauncherPro) - but switching to ESYS with no Launcher everything worked fine - so I suspect an issue with LauncherPro.

I was using E-Sys 3.38.2, LauncherPro 5.2.0, PSdZData_Lite_v4.37.42

shawnsheridan was the one who recommended using ESYS with no launcher for VO coding and using a Launcher for FDL coding only.

Wish I knew about BimmerUtility before I paid $50 for LauncherPro (I just bought LauncherPro on 10/14/22)
Interesting.

I have occasionally had issue during remote coding for injection, but always good advice to remote unneeded variables to isolate issues.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.




g20
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST