Bimmerpost
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Technical Topics DIYs and Coding Discussions BimmerCode

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-30-2019, 06:13 AM   #45
Jbrock22
Captain
Jbrock22's Avatar
174
Rep
750
Posts

Drives: 2pw
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayPichardo View Post
Used the Beta today and added the M5 display /HUD as well as video in motion. Only down side is that Sport display went away in the HUD and the map display seems smaller.
I changed to the M instrument display also, but noticed that drive mode is not displayed. IE Sport plus, Sport, Comfort etc. i like to know what mode I'm in.
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2019, 07:40 AM   #46
A6bullet
Second Lieutenant
Germany
177
Rep
287
Posts

Drives: M2(gone). 2020 330i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayPichardo View Post
Used the Beta today and added the M5 display /HUD as well as video in motion. Only down side is that Sport display went away in the HUD and the map display seems smaller.
Damn that looks pretty good! Does everything still work like standard or is there any funkiness going on?
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2019, 07:49 AM   #47
tturbolife
Captain
tturbolife's Avatar
United_States
85
Rep
924
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340i, 2009 650i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2020 BMW M340i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by A6bullet View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayPichardo View Post
Used the Beta today and added the M5 display /HUD as well as video in motion. Only down side is that Sport display went away in the HUD and the map display seems smaller.
Damn that looks pretty good! Does everything still work like standard or is there any funkiness going on?
It's been working fine for me so far
__________________
M340i: Arctic White, 790M wheels, Cognac interior, Aluminum Tetragon trim
2009 e63 650i: Titanium Silver, Jet Black interior
Appreciate 1
A6bullet176.50

      10-30-2019, 09:41 AM   #48
JayPichardo
BMW Client Advisor
JayPichardo's Avatar
2891
Rep
2,441
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Tulley BMW Nashua, NH

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 BMW M340i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbrock22 View Post
I changed to the M instrument display also, but noticed that drive mode is not displayed. IE Sport plus, Sport, Comfort etc. i like to know what mode I'm in.
M cars don't have "modes" so that is probably why. It does display on the idrive screen when you first change modes but that's it.
__________________

Contact me for all your BMW needs in the New England area.
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2019, 11:42 AM   #49
phillyd2
First Lieutenant
158
Rep
398
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340i XDrive
Join Date: May 2012
Location: SE, PA

iTrader: (0)

Have they said when they will be out of beta mode?
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2019, 02:05 PM   #50
Jbrock22
Captain
Jbrock22's Avatar
174
Rep
750
Posts

Drives: 2pw
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayPichardo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbrock22 View Post
I changed to the M instrument display also, but noticed that drive mode is not displayed. IE Sport plus, Sport, Comfort etc. i like to know what mode I'm in.
M cars don't have "modes" so that is probably why. It does display on the idrive screen when you first change modes but that's it.
Thank you. I like the display but I like to see the driving mode in my line of sight.
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2019, 02:51 PM   #51
JayPichardo
BMW Client Advisor
JayPichardo's Avatar
2891
Rep
2,441
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Tulley BMW Nashua, NH

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 BMW M340i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbrock22 View Post
Thank you. I like the display but I like to see the driving mode in my line of sight.
Just leave it set to Sport at all times LOL
__________________

Contact me for all your BMW needs in the New England area.
Appreciate 1
      10-30-2019, 04:39 PM   #52
2020g20
Second Lieutenant
82
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: 2020 330i
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by A6bullet View Post
Does everything still work like standard or is there any funkiness going on?
Only funkiness I have experienced is that the interior lighting dim wheel (scroll wheel to right of headlight controls) no longer seems to dim the digital instrument cluster, the control screen, or the HVAC cluster. Perhaps I have disabled that myself somehow in another setting, but all three of those things were definitely dimming along with the backlight of all the dashboard buttons originally. Now when I use the dim wheel, only the dashboard buttons and a few other interior lighting components dim/brighten. I'm seeing this behavior day or night, headlights on or off.

The instrument cluster, control screen and HVAC cluster all still auto-dim according to ambient light though. If I shine a light into the light sensor to the left of the instrument cluster, they all get super bright. And if I cover the sensor with my hand they all get super dim. But the dim wheel no longer affects them. Anyone else seeing that after changing any coding?
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2019, 09:31 AM   #53
A6bullet
Second Lieutenant
Germany
177
Rep
287
Posts

Drives: M2(gone). 2020 330i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2020g20 View Post
Only funkiness I have experienced is that the interior lighting dim wheel (scroll wheel to right of headlight controls) no longer seems to dim the digital instrument cluster, the control screen, or the HVAC cluster. Perhaps I have disabled that myself somehow in another setting, but all three of those things were definitely dimming along with the backlight of all the dashboard buttons originally. Now when I use the dim wheel, only the dashboard buttons and a few other interior lighting components dim/brighten. I'm seeing this behavior day or night, headlights on or off.

The instrument cluster, control screen and HVAC cluster all still auto-dim according to ambient light though. If I shine a light into the light sensor to the left of the instrument cluster, they all get super bright. And if I cover the sensor with my hand they all get super dim. But the dim wheel no longer affects them. Anyone else seeing that after changing any coding?
Damn thats very interesting. Hopefully its just a bug thatll get patched later. What if you revert back to previous back up?

I'm still waiting on my car but I will definitely look into doing the M dials, they look really good.
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2019, 08:40 PM   #54
2020g20
Second Lieutenant
82
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: 2020 330i
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by A6bullet View Post
Damn thats very interesting. Hopefully its just a bug thatll get patched later. What if you revert back to previous back up?
Nah, tried reverting all categories to original backups. Dimmer wheel still seems to be mostly disabled. Submitted it to support to see if they have an idea.

Anyone else who's coded the instrument panel and head unit seeing any weirdness with the dimmer wheel?
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2019, 05:05 AM   #55
rajens00
Private
United_States
32
Rep
60
Posts

Drives: 2019 330xi
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2020g20 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by A6bullet View Post
Damn thats very interesting. Hopefully its just a bug thatll get patched later. What if you revert back to previous back up?
Nah, tried reverting all categories to original backups. Dimmer wheel still seems to be mostly disabled. Submitted it to support to see if they have an idea.

Anyone else who's coded the instrument panel and head unit seeing any weirdness with the dimmer wheel?
I also coded the M instrument cluster in my 330xi and after reading your post I checked the dimmer wheel and it works fine.

Good luck
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2019, 08:25 AM   #56
phillyd2
First Lieutenant
158
Rep
398
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340i XDrive
Join Date: May 2012
Location: SE, PA

iTrader: (0)

They updated the App today but don't know if it includes the Beta features others have used. Can someone confirm?
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2019, 07:52 AM   #57
2020g20
Second Lieutenant
82
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: 2020 330i
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Was able to restore dimmer wheel function by restoring all backups and performing a 'factory reset' within iDrive. Have performed all of the ECU programming I wanted again using the Bimmercode beta, and the dimmer wheel still works. Not sure where the glitch was but seems to be worked out now.
Appreciate 2
A6bullet176.50
mzdial75.50

      11-02-2019, 01:39 PM   #58
g20beam
Second Lieutenant
g20beam's Avatar
Canada
224
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: G20 330i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillyd2 View Post
They updated the App today but don't know if it includes the Beta features others have used. Can someone confirm?
Just updated to latest public version to code my car after my OBDLink MX+ arrived. So far been able to connect to HU_MGU but not Instrument Cluster (shows that it is not supported). I guess they fixed some things in the new version but if other users can code Instrument Cluster with beta, then I think there is still a difference between beta and latest updated version. The version before that could not access Headunit at all.
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2019, 01:41 PM   #59
g20beam
Second Lieutenant
g20beam's Avatar
Canada
224
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: G20 330i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2020g20 View Post
Nah, tried reverting all categories to original backups. Dimmer wheel still seems to be mostly disabled. Submitted it to support to see if they have an idea.

Anyone else who's coded the instrument panel and head unit seeing any weirdness with the dimmer wheel?
Are you using a beta version of the app to access Instrument Cluster settings? Or is this the latest public version of the app?
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2019, 02:20 PM   #60
phillyd2
First Lieutenant
158
Rep
398
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340i XDrive
Join Date: May 2012
Location: SE, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by g20beam View Post
Just updated to latest public version to code my car after my OBDLink MX+ arrived. So far been able to connect to HU_MGU but not Instrument Cluster (shows that it is not supported). I guess they fixed some things in the new version but if other users can code Instrument Cluster with beta, then I think there is still a difference between beta and latest updated version. The version before that could not access Headunit at all.
That's a shame but thanks for the info. Have you tried using G30 instead of G20 as referenced up thread by them?
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 12:26 PM   #61
g20beam
Second Lieutenant
g20beam's Avatar
Canada
224
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: G20 330i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillyd2 View Post
That's a shame but thanks for the info. Have you tried using G30 instead of G20 as referenced up thread by them?
I have, it shows the same thing.

I think itís definitely the beta which made it work, waiting on an update for access to this beta, and then I will update on this forum.
Appreciate 1
phillyd2157.50

      11-04-2019, 09:21 AM   #62
2020g20
Second Lieutenant
82
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: 2020 330i
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by g20beam View Post
I have, it shows the same thing.
Yeah, was told by support recently that using G30 instead of G20 is outdated. Doesn't make a difference in current versions (public or beta).
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2019, 03:13 PM   #63
mzdial
Second Lieutenant
mzdial's Avatar
United_States
76
Rep
216
Posts

Drives: '19 G20 330i & '19 G01 X3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Zionsville, IN

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I've been trying to track down a bug with Stephan the developer that I've got. I tried out the additional layouts, and now my navigation prompts will not show up in my HUD. The option to turn it on/off is in iDrive, and I've tried enabling/disabling it.. The information now just stays in the middle of the digital instrument cluster. He's looked at the log data from the backup to original and they seem to be exact. I'm stumped on how to fix it.
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2019, 04:59 PM   #64
g20beam
Second Lieutenant
g20beam's Avatar
Canada
224
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: G20 330i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

So I've gotten a beta from the developer today on TestFlight and it was version 3.3 (10247).

Almost everything is configurable now. I have configured ASD off, the M Sport Driving Display, and I've checked all the other tabs which are all fully functional now. As far as bugs go, I'm not sure, I just did em and took it for a drive, everything seems fine.

If I find anything I'll be sure to let you guys know.
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2019, 05:32 PM   #65
mzdial
Second Lieutenant
mzdial's Avatar
United_States
76
Rep
216
Posts

Drives: '19 G20 330i & '19 G01 X3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Zionsville, IN

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by g20beam View Post
So I've gotten a beta from the developer today on TestFlight and it was version 3.3 (10247).

Almost everything is configurable now. I have configured ASD off, the M Sport Driving Display, and I've checked all the other tabs which are all fully functional now. As far as bugs go, I'm not sure, I just did em and took it for a drive, everything seems fine.

If I find anything I'll be sure to let you guys know.
I posted in the main forum, I factory reset the car and the navigation directions came back in the HUD. Now I see it in both the digital instrument cluster and the HUD. I can't remember if this is how it was before the coding. Any chance you can shed some light on this?

Also, Stephan (the dev for BimmerCode) is fantastic with support and has always been very responsive and helpful. If you're on the fence with buying, it is a great piece of software. I use it on many different cars.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2019, 01:46 PM   #66
mzdial
Second Lieutenant
mzdial's Avatar
United_States
76
Rep
216
Posts

Drives: '19 G20 330i & '19 G01 X3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Zionsville, IN

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
It's been confirmed by several users now that the navigation directions do show up in both the HUD and the instrument cluster. It is the proper behavior.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.




g20
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST