Bimmerpost
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Technical Topics DIYs and Coding Discussions G20 HUD changes

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-24-2020, 01:11 AM   #1
kabongSteve
Enlisted Member
12
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: G20 340i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

G20 HUD changes

I was doing some playing in HU_MGU and found a few settings I thought I'd play with.

Anyway, I can now config Sports Displays in HUD, which basically shows me a digital Tacho across the top of my HUD.

there was also some about shift lights, but nothing seemed to appear.

Anyone else played with this stuff?
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2020, 08:26 AM   #2
Burrcold
Lieutenant Colonel
Canada
1974
Rep
1,932
Posts

Drives: 2019 Audi RS5 Sportback
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Isn't the digital tach in the HUD something you can already get without coding? Mine has one.
__________________
2019 Audi RS5 Sportback
2020 BMW M340i xDrive - Sold
2019 Audi S5 Sportback - RIP
2019 Audi S4 - Sold
2018 Audi S5 Coupe - Sold
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2020, 09:50 AM   #3
RSnic
Captain
RSnic's Avatar
United_States
358
Rep
995
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340Xi (G20)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kabongSteve View Post
I was doing some playing in HU_MGU and found a few settings I thought I'd play with.

Anyway, I can now config Sports Displays in HUD, which basically shows me a digital Tacho across the top of my HUD.

there was also some about shift lights, but nothing seemed to appear.

Anyone else played with this stuff?
kabongSteve ,

First off, I didn't do any coding, but found a HUD tach display -- it's a horizontal line that has red at far right & yellow next to it. Car's RPM show up above that line. At the very top edge of HUD, you'll see a red line when it's time to shift. I have tach displayed only in Sport mode, but you can have it displayed in all modes. Think you go to car, settings, HUD & I think it says display tach

BTW, I had to adjust HUD display area to see red line

Hope that helps
__________________
Al

2020 M340Xi| ZDA| ZDY| ZPP| ZPX| 1CR| 1PL| 688| 6NW| 2VFH|
Retired: 2014 328i
BMW CCA
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2020, 12:57 PM   #4
hottroc
Private First Class
22
Rep
183
Posts

Drives: BMW 330e
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Can the digital tach with shift-change lights be made visible in the normal instrument cluster? I don't have HUD.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2020, 09:48 PM   #5
siegester
Lieutenant
siegester's Avatar
136
Rep
519
Posts

Drives: '20 M340i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burrcold View Post
Isn't the digital tach in the HUD something you can already get without coding? Mine has one.

Yes, the tach and shift lights are already enabled in the HUD, no need for any coding

Last edited by siegester; 04-25-2020 at 01:54 PM..
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2020, 06:18 AM   #6
hottroc
Private First Class
22
Rep
183
Posts

Drives: BMW 330e
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by siegester View Post
Yes, the tach and shift lights are already enabled in the HUD, no need for any coding
No, you misread my post, I'm asking about the normal instrument cluster, not the HUD.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2020, 01:53 PM   #7
siegester
Lieutenant
siegester's Avatar
136
Rep
519
Posts

Drives: '20 M340i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hottroc View Post
No, you misread my post, I'm asking about the normal instrument cluster, not the HUD.
Sorry, I wasn't responding to you

Last edited by siegester; 04-25-2020 at 07:39 PM..
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2020, 03:29 AM   #8
kabongSteve
Enlisted Member
12
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: G20 340i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Thanks obviously something i missed in earlier playing.

Would be interesting to know what the M hud was and what other features it has.
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2020, 09:11 AM   #9
hottroc
Private First Class
22
Rep
183
Posts

Drives: BMW 330e
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by siegester View Post
Sorry, I wasn't responding to you
Apologies, my bad.
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2020, 09:34 AM   #10
VipinLJ
Petrolhead
VipinLJ's Avatar
United_States
1091
Rep
2,253
Posts

Drives: ‘20 330i,‘16 X3,‘18 SQ5,‘17 A7
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hottroc View Post
Can the digital tach with shift-change lights be made visible in the normal instrument cluster? I don't have HUD.
I believe you need the HUD since there isn’t any difference (no shift lights) in the live cockpit when that option is selected.
__________________
Current:
2020 BMW 330i xDrive
2018 Audi SQ5 Prestige
2017 Audi A7 Prestige
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2020, 01:45 PM   #11
hottroc
Private First Class
22
Rep
183
Posts

Drives: BMW 330e
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Oh that's what I thought, that's a shame. Thanks anyway.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2020, 02:39 AM   #12
VipinLJ
Petrolhead
VipinLJ's Avatar
United_States
1091
Rep
2,253
Posts

Drives: ‘20 330i,‘16 X3,‘18 SQ5,‘17 A7
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hottroc View Post
Oh that's what I thought, that's a shame. Thanks anyway.
I might be mistaken. I just watched a video where the shift lights pop up in the live cockpit as well.



I don’t use that particular view in my car. But now I’m tempted to check it out. I’ll see if it works on my car too.
__________________
Current:
2020 BMW 330i xDrive
2018 Audi SQ5 Prestige
2017 Audi A7 Prestige
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2020, 03:43 AM   #13
hottroc
Private First Class
22
Rep
183
Posts

Drives: BMW 330e
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Interesting! I'll have to have a play to see if I can get that. It's hard to tell if it's shift lights or rev-limit warning lights.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2020, 07:20 AM   #14
VipinLJ
Petrolhead
VipinLJ's Avatar
United_States
1091
Rep
2,253
Posts

Drives: ‘20 330i,‘16 X3,‘18 SQ5,‘17 A7
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hottroc View Post
Interesting! I'll have to have a play to see if I can get that. It's hard to tell if it's shift lights or rev-limit warning lights.
I assumed both were the same? It basically increases from yellow to red as the rpms enter 6k rpms and reaches the redline. And if you don't upshift when you hit the rev limiter, it becomes red and blinks till you do.
__________________
Current:
2020 BMW 330i xDrive
2018 Audi SQ5 Prestige
2017 Audi A7 Prestige
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2020, 07:26 AM   #15
hottroc
Private First Class
22
Rep
183
Posts

Drives: BMW 330e
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Not both the same no. Shift lights show the ideal point to shift for max performance. That point is not necessarily (in fact almost certainly not) at max revs. If the lights change to red above 6k revs then they're probably not shift lights as I believe the max power point for a G20 is less than that.

[EDIT - Actually reading the wiki page https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shift_light it seems that the term means different things in different markets so maybe down to interpretation. Anyway my understanding is as above and certainly the most useful one. There's nothing to be gained from hitting the rev-limit]

Last edited by hottroc; 05-01-2020 at 07:36 AM..
Appreciate 1
VipinLJ1091.00

      11-22-2020, 12:26 AM   #16
phayze
Private
8
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

What coding option did u do to enable this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kabongSteve View Post
I was doing some playing in HU_MGU and found a few settings I thought I'd play with.

Anyway, I can now config Sports Displays in HUD, which basically shows me a digital Tacho across the top of my HUD.

there was also some about shift lights, but nothing seemed to appear.

Anyone else played with this stuff?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.




g20
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST