Bimmerpost
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Technical Topics DIYs and Coding Discussions Recoding a G20 after relocating it to a different country

01-07-2020, 05:52 PM   #1
Satchnz
Rep
Drives: BMW X3

Recoding a G20 after relocating it to a different country

Hi,

I’ve done a little coding in the past on an F20 (changed start/stop button behaviour, auto folding mirrors, increased the one touch indicator time etc), and updated the maps on my F25. So I’m not a complete noob, but not far from it lol.

I’ll be moving to the UK next year for two years and am considering taking advantage of the lower car prices there (compared to my home country New Zealand). Looking to maybe purchasing a near new G20 330i for use while I am in the UK, then importing it to New Zealand when I return there to live (have done preliminary numbers and it will stack up). Having owned it for more than 12 months and then bringing it “with me” means I won’t have to pay sales tax on the value of the car. This is what tips the deal in my favour but I digress...

I’m interested to understand what is required to recode the car for a change of country, outside of the user available options. Am I able to update the navigation maps via USB as per the Fxx range? Are there any gotchas that I need to be aware of (such as I will lose the ability to use certain features or functions)?

Both UK and NZ drive on the same side of the road so no issues there. And safety/emissions requirements won’t be an issue either. As I intend to purchase it near new, and I won’t be living in an area that snows much if at all, I’ll have full control over its ongoing cleanliness so don’t see the rust concerns to be an issue.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2020, 08:35 AM   #2
A6bullet
Lieutenant
Germany
Rep
Drives: 2020 330i Msport