Bimmerpost
3
&
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2019+ BMW 3 AND 4-SERIES FORUMS (G2x Generation) Local Forums UK Altering limit speed in line with speed signs?

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-15-2021, 03:27 PM   #1
Robsa
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW 330e
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Sussex UK

iTrader: (0)

Altering limit speed in line with speed signs?

Good evening all

So I was wondering whether you can set the car to automatically raise and lower the speed limiting function in line with the posted speed? I read on here someone said the could with the HUD, but I don't have this. I know you can press the 'set' button every time it changes, but that's a ball ache really isn't it? Better if it did it automatically.

You would have thought this would be an ideal 'offer' to buy as an add-on through the online shop wouldn't you? How hard can it be to automatically adjust the speed limit in line with the changing speed limit on the road?

Cheers
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2021, 03:39 PM   #2
hamera
Second Lieutenant
hamera's Avatar
United Kingdom
235
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: 320i M Sport (G20)
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robsa View Post
Good evening all

So I was wondering whether you can set the car to automatically raise and lower the speed limiting function in line with the posted speed? I read on here someone said the could with the HUD, but I don't have this. I know you can press the 'set' button every time it changes, but that's a ball ache really isn't it? Better if it did it automatically.

You would have thought this would be an ideal 'offer' to buy as an add-on through the online shop wouldn't you? How hard can it be to automatically adjust the speed limit in line with the changing speed limit on the road?

Cheers
It can do it automatically. Also, it will slow down before the roundabouts and sharp turns if you wish. I'm guessing you need the assistant pro option for this to be available. I don't have HUD.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2021, 03:41 PM   #3
Tam the Bam
Grumpy Old Git
Tam the Bam's Avatar
United Kingdom
354
Rep
834
Posts

Drives: BMW G20 330i RWD M Sport
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Scotland, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robsa View Post
Good evening all

So I was wondering whether you can set the car to automatically raise and lower the speed limiting function in line with the posted speed? I read on here someone said the could with the HUD, but I don't have this. I know you can press the 'set' button every time it changes, but that's a ball ache really isn't it? Better if it did it automatically.

You would have thought this would be an ideal 'offer' to buy as an add-on through the online shop wouldn't you? How hard can it be to automatically adjust the speed limit in line with the changing speed limit on the road?

Cheers
I have this but donít use it. Loads of times it registers the wrong speed limit around my area. There are threads on here where people from the U.K. have posted pictures showing stupid speed limits.
__________________
Retired:

F10 520D M Sport
E60 520D SE
Volvo S60 type R
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2021, 03:46 PM   #4
hamera
Second Lieutenant
hamera's Avatar
United Kingdom
235
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: 320i M Sport (G20)
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tam the Bam View Post
I have this but don’t use it. Loads of times it registers the wrong speed limit around my area. There are threads on here where people from the U.K. have posted pictures showing stupid speed limits.
I mean, it's OK most of the time but you need to stay alert or you may end up doing 100mph
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2021, 03:50 PM   #5
Robsa
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW 330e
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Sussex UK

iTrader: (0)

thanks guys, you clearly need assistant pro option which I don't have. I have to press the set button manually to change it.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2021, 11:38 AM   #6
ShereKhan
Major
ShereKhan's Avatar
United Kingdom
81
Rep
1,109
Posts

Drives: BMW G20 330e M Sport MY20
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bristol, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 BMW 330e  [0.00]
I have the DAP option, I have found you can set it up with a +/- feature against the posted speed. It works pretty well. But on odd occassions its been confused and put me down to 30 instead of 50 on Mway. 40 in 20 zone....but on the whole its impressive how it works.

The only grip I have found really is the specs cameras are mounted some way away from speed limit signs so you have to be careful on those. It will go 70-50 very promptly so watch out for cars behind you.

I only went for DAP as I wanted radar cruise.
__________________
20 BMW G20 330e M Sport Portim„o Blue/Cognac, Driver Pro, Tech,M+ lumbar, storage packs
Long gone -15 Peugeot 308 2.0HDi GT AUTO Magnetic Blue, 10 BMW F10 520D SE Xirallic Imperial blue/Cinnamon Brown, 06 E90 320si - Le Mans Blue - Totally standard specification (Scrapped RIP 12/08/2010), 00 Peugeot 306 2.0 SE Cabriolet, 94 Rover 214 SEi, 91 Fiat Uno 60S Mk2
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.




g20
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST