Bimmerpost
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Technical Topics iDrive, Nav, Phone, Audio, Video, Cameras, Electronics Reading text messages, not texts with Carplay

05-01-2020, 11:45 PM   #1
PersonaNonGrata
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 M340i

Reading text messages, not texts with Carplay

Sorry if this has been covered but I can’t find anything helpful.

I am new to my G20 M350i, recently coming from an LCI F10 535i. I have Apple Carplay text functioning in the G20 where Siri reads me texts to me but what I am missing is the option to READ text messages in iDrive. My F10 had that option and I actually coded it to allow more characters. My G20 is missing that. I saw this display in a YouTube video review of a Canadian market M350ix where there is an option for Text Messages. My iDrive doesn’t show this.

Can someone explain this to me?
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      05-02-2020, 07:18 AM   #2
hottroc
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: BMW 330e

I just posted in another thread about this.

If you change the mobile device option for your phone, in iDrive, to iDrive mode you will see the text messages option...but you can't reply or send new messages.

In Carplay mode you can send text messages (via Siri) but not see the received messages properly. So I end up having to go back and forth between the connection modes.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2020, 07:29 PM   #3
PersonaNonGrata
Private First Class
United_States
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by hottroc View Post
I just posted in another thread about this.

If you change the mobile device option for your phone, in iDrive, to iDrive mode you will see the text messages option...but you can't reply or send new messages.

In Carplay mode you can send text messages (via Siri) but not see the received messages properly. So I end up having to go back and forth between the connection modes.