Bimmerpost
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2019+ BMW 3 AND 4-SERIES FORUMS (G2x Generation) General G20 Sedan / G22 Coupe / G26 Gran Coupe Discussions Femto Unlock Questions

04-23-2024, 03:39 AM   #1
Coldburnout
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2022 BMW M340i

Femto Unlock Questions

Hello everbody I just picked myself up a 2022 BMW M340i. I’ve done some mods like a valve tonic exhaust a cai and the cts charge pipe. I’m looking to do a tune now to really let this car show its self! I’ve seen that Femto is the only option on unlocking these newer models so with that I have a couple of questions that maybe you guys could help me out with since I’m new to the platform.
1.With the option to clone the ecu can I clone my stock dme and than switch between my stock dme and the tuned dme for whenever i need to take to the dealership and not have the car be detectable as tuned
2. Seems everyone is telling me to get bootmod3 what’s the difference between bootmod3 and bootmod3 customrom I’ve seen these as options when it’s comes to shipping out the DME.
3.Lastly how reliable are these engines on the ots tune from bootmod3? I’m looking to maybe install an upgraded heat exchanger to help with cooling but is it better to get a remote tune and dial it in better for better reliability or will the ots suffice?
Thanks in Advance guys!
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2024, 06:57 AM   #2
MichaelNRW
B58 Power
Rep
Drives: 05/2022 M340i xDrive Touring

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coldburnout View Post
1.With the option to clone the ecu can I clone my stock dme and than switch between my stock dme and the tuned dme for whenever i need to take to the dealership and not have the car be detectable as tuned
A clone would work but doesn´t guarantee that the wont void the warranty for your engine and connected components.
All other ECUs in the car still register the mileage and you´ll have a huge gap between the DME and the other ECUs.