Bimmerpost
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Technical Topics DIYs and Coding Discussions Instrument cluster 330kmh to 260 kmh coding

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-26-2020, 02:34 AM   #1
sztmek
Enlisted Member
12
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 G20
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UE

iTrader: (0)

Instrument cluster 330kmh to 260 kmh coding

Hi mates! As in the topic is possible to code the instrument cluster from 330 to 260 kmh . My alpina cluster is for me not readable , via bimmercode
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2020, 06:32 AM   #2
Watzek
New Member
Watzek's Avatar
6
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: BMW G20
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

It is possible to activate M layout with 260 km/h instead of originally 330km/h with e-sys.


In KOMBI4 unit search for AG_MPA_MSP_VIEW parameter and set to "mpa_ansicht_260_skala"
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 3
VipinLJ939.00

      05-29-2020, 03:25 AM   #3
sztmek
Enlisted Member
12
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 G20
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UE

iTrader: (0)

Thanks a lot! But i have only bimmercode , the same formula works in this option?
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 08:53 AM   #4
PunkSinatra
Private
Switzerland
62
Rep
98
Posts

Drives: M340i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

I would like to ask it the other way. Is it possible to code the original cluster from 260kmh to 330 kmh? At the moment I'm using alpina Displays, but would like to use the original.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 12:40 PM   #5
PunkSinatra
Private
Switzerland
62
Rep
98
Posts

Drives: M340i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

I've done it. It's just the same way of this thread, just changed the scale to 330.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2020, 03:28 PM   #6
A6bullet
Lieutenant
Germany
303
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: 2020 330i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz

iTrader: (0)

Done on mine. Kept the original BMW faces
Attached Images
 
__________________
E36 318ti
E46 320i
E82 135i
F87 M2

G20 330i
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 03:56 AM   #7
Joedeejay
Private
40
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: BMW G20
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

To dig this one up. So getting the M Font is great thanks

I do prefer the full M Layout, the changes to the oil temp fuel gauge etc. Anyway to code them through or is that restricted to the M Layout? As much as I prefer it, the 330 scale is a tad extreme for mine hah

Also any way to change font of the HUD too? Tried flicking through expert mode but nothing jumped out at me for it
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2020, 02:29 PM   #8
rockblock
Private First Class
rockblock's Avatar
Canada
12
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340xi Sunset Orange
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by A6bullet View Post
Done on mine. Kept the original BMW faces
Why doesn't the RPM show 8 (x1000)?...the US version shows 200 mph & 8 RPMs
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 02:10 AM   #9
A6bullet
Lieutenant
Germany
303
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: 2020 330i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
Why doesn't the RPM show 8 (x1000)?...the US version shows 200 mph & 8 RPMs
So I didnt change the actual layout of the dash. I went in and only changed the scala on it from 260 to 330. It also changes the font which I really like. 330kmh is a bit extreme but I do really like the font.
__________________
E36 318ti
E46 320i
E82 135i
F87 M2

G20 330i
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 08:27 AM   #10
rockblock
Private First Class
rockblock's Avatar
Canada
12
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340xi Sunset Orange
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by A6bullet View Post
So I didnt change the actual layout of the dash. I went in and only changed the scala on it from 260 to 330. It also changes the font which I really like. 330kmh is a bit extreme but I do really like the font.
Thx, a few more questions:

* Is there a way to also change the scale for the RPM?
* is 330 the only option, or can you do say 320 with an even scale rather than odd?
* Can you change the scale increment?
* Can you change the font?

Thx
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 09:38 AM   #11
A6bullet
Lieutenant
Germany
303
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: 2020 330i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
Thx, a few more questions:

* Is there a way to also change the scale for the RPM?
* is 330 the only option, or can you do say 320 with an even scale rather than odd?
* Can you change the scale increment?
* Can you change the font?

Thx
1. Not sure have tried to change RPM
2. 260 and 330 are the only default options. Everything is changeable but idk on that part.
3. Not that I saw
4. Again maybe, but it seems its tied to what scale you choose, from the presets.

I would recommend just sticking with the regular display and then changing the scale.
__________________
E36 318ti
E46 320i
E82 135i
F87 M2

G20 330i
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 09:44 AM   #12
rockblock
Private First Class
rockblock's Avatar
Canada
12
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340xi Sunset Orange
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (1)

Thanks for the response...one thing I've noticed is that with the updated 330kph display, the driving modes and gears have disappeared (S1, S2...M1, M2, etc)...only shows "D" - any way to bring those back?...even in manual mode I don't know what gear I'm in
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 09:48 AM   #13
A6bullet
Lieutenant
Germany
303
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: 2020 330i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
Thanks for the response...one thing I've noticed is that with the updated 330kph display, the driving modes and gears have disappeared (S1, S2...M1, M2, etc)...only shows "D" - any way to bring those back?...even in manual mode I don't know what gear I'm in
Oh interesting, I still have gears showing on mine. I really wish I could help you man, but im just a lay person and don't know much about all the happenings behind the scenes when coding. Have you tried reverting to a back up and re coding?
__________________
E36 318ti
E46 320i
E82 135i
F87 M2

G20 330i
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 09:58 AM   #14
rockblock
Private First Class
rockblock's Avatar
Canada
12
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340xi Sunset Orange
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (1)

hmmm....doesn't work - I thought there might be a setting in iDrive or signal lever that I might have missed - thx anyway

Last edited by rockblock; 10-01-2020 at 02:33 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 02:44 PM   #15
rockblock
Private First Class
rockblock's Avatar
Canada
12
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340xi Sunset Orange
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (1)

Alpina mode on the other hand is BRILLIANT !!!...great design, wonderful fonts, 340 max kph and all modes show

If there was a way to replicate the Alpina design with to an "M" or "M Performance" logo (and possible red/amber contrast instead of blue) that would be a perfect score for me
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 05:19 PM   #16
rockblock
Private First Class
rockblock's Avatar
Canada
12
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340xi Sunset Orange
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (1)

Well I found a way it's supposed to do it, but it doesn't work

In Expert mode, if you go to DKOMBI4 / section 3001 / LOGO_SCHRIFTZUG you will have 20+ options to choose from, including the M logo...however, no matter which other option I choose, it will just remove the Alpina logo, but not display any of the selected ones...choosing Alpina will revert back....so the option is there, but doesn't seem to work - only logo you can have is either Alpina or nothing

anyone tried this?
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 09:29 PM   #17
VipinLJ
Petrolhead
VipinLJ's Avatar
United_States
939
Rep
2,088
Posts

Drives: 20 330i,16 X3,18 SQ5,17 A7
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
Well I found a way it's supposed to do it, but it doesn't work

In Expert mode, if you go to DKOMBI4 / section 3001 / LOGO_SCHRIFTZUG you will have 20+ options to choose from, including the M logo...however, no matter which other option I choose, it will just remove the Alpina logo, but not display any of the selected ones...choosing Alpina will revert back....so the option is there, but doesn't seem to work - only logo you can have is either Alpina or nothing

anyone tried this?
Yup. It's either the alpine logo or nothing with the alpine cluster. You can't out an M/M340i logo in its place.
__________________
Current:
2020 BMW 330i xDrive
2018 Audi SQ5 Prestige
2017 Audi A7 Prestige
Appreciate 1
ingmv17.50

      10-02-2020, 11:58 AM   #18
rockblock
Private First Class
rockblock's Avatar
Canada
12
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: 2020 M340xi Sunset Orange
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (1)

Yes, unfortunately I got this response from BimmerCode support:

"The M display style is not fully compatible with regular cars and there is no way to fix display of driving modes unfortunately. The other things can not be tweaked also

Only the Alpina logos work with the Alpina layout unfortunately"


Right now it appears the 5/7 series and some X get to enjoy
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.




g20
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST