Bimmerpost
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
Technical Topics Mechanical Maintenance and TSBs: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / TSBs and Service Bulletin G22 Lift Points and Jack Stand Placement

03-29-2024, 10:14 PM   #1
Barry A. Waters
Rep
Drives: BMW 430i Coupe Base

Question G22 Lift Points and Jack Stand Placement

I'm new to BMW and have searched the forum for the subject above and have not found any definitive information for my 2021 430i Coupe. What I DID find were several debates on whether or not there's a central point up front between the front wheels and another at the differential with some even stating that BMW specifically says these work for previous generations (Fnn series and such) but NOT the 'all new / redesigned' chassis of the G22. Does anyone know for sure?

I was hoping to find info like this in a sticky FAQ article under general maintenance but that has not happened. If anyone could point me in the right direction I would very much appreciate it. My first project requires I get the nose of the car in the air with both front wheels removed so I'm stalled until I find out how to elevate & support it safely with a floor jack and jack stands.

There's a video out there of a guy looking for a Darwin Award using a hydraulic floor jack on each of the front factory jack points with both front wheels removed with NO jack stands at all. He's under the car working and just a seal failure away from death or WORSE (What's worse? A lifetime as a vegetable, that's what's worse.). I can't understand it... :-(

Barry
Attached Images

Last edited by Barry A. Waters; 03-29-2024 at 10:27 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2024, 08:35 AM   #2
Delighted_Jester
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW M340i