Bimmerpost
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2019+ BMW 3 AND 4-SERIES FORUMS (G2x Generation) General G20 Sedan / G22 Coupe / G26 Gran Coupe Discussions Remote start not working

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-13-2020, 04:49 PM   #1
Medjd11
New Member
5
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Remote start not working

Error message pops up onscreen. Anyone know what's up or know the fix?
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 04:54 PM   #2
Burrcold
Captain
Canada
735
Rep
813
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M340i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

I was having the same problem. All fixed now. See my thread...

https://g20.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1694369
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 05:29 PM   #3
Medjd11
New Member
5
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burrcold View Post
I was having the same problem. All fixed now. See my thread...

https://g20.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1694369
Tried resetting everything and followed your thread. No luck. Still gives this error message. I even tried updating apps, logging in and out but nothing. The car acts and sounds like it's going to do it via key fob but doesn't.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 06:17 PM   #4
Burrcold
Captain
Canada
735
Rep
813
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M340i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medjd11 View Post
Tried resetting everything and followed your thread. No luck. Still gives this error message. I even tried updating apps, logging in and out but nothing. The car acts and sounds like it's going to do it via key fob but doesn't.
Silly question, but you're not low on fuel are you? It won't remote start if you are.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 06:25 PM   #5
Medjd11
New Member
5
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burrcold View Post
Silly question, but you're not low on fuel are you? It won't remote start if you are.
More than half a tank.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 06:31 PM   #6
VipinLJ
Petrolhead
VipinLJ's Avatar
United_States
330
Rep
1,022
Posts

Drives: ‘20 330i,‘16 X3,‘18 SQ5,‘17 A7
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (1)

Are your doors locked and windows closed? It won’t work if they aren’t.

Also, I tried to use remote start yesterday, and it didn’t work. I had switched the car off using the start button like I always do, without shifting to P or hitting the parking brake. Usually it turns the parking brake on, but yesterday it didn’t. And there was no error message. The next time I tried I did remember to set the parking brake before exiting, and it worked. Could that be your issue too?
__________________
Current:
2020 BMW 330i xDrive
2018 Audi SQ5 Prestige
2017 Audi A7 Prestige
2016 BMW X3 xDrive28i
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 06:32 PM   #7
Medjd11
New Member
5
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

I tried to see if there was an update, but it says the software is up to date. This is the software it's running.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 10:13 PM   #8
VipinLJ
Petrolhead
VipinLJ's Avatar
United_States
330
Rep
1,022
Posts

Drives: ‘20 330i,‘16 X3,‘18 SQ5,‘17 A7
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medjd11 View Post
I tried to see if there was an update, but it says the software is up to date. This is the software it's running.
No OTA updates yet. So it’ll show the software you have as the latest version on I drive even if it isn’t. Maybe time to take it to your dealer for a software update?
__________________
Current:
2020 BMW 330i xDrive
2018 Audi SQ5 Prestige
2017 Audi A7 Prestige
2016 BMW X3 xDrive28i
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 11:16 PM   #9
premier3is
Lieutenant
premier3is's Avatar
709
Rep
502
Posts

Drives: 2019 BMW 330i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medjd11 View Post
Error message pops up onscreen. Anyone know what's up or know the fix?
If you remote start the car and turn it off using the key fob 2x without getting in the car and driving it, it will not remote start further till you do.

I doubt this is the issue for you, but just mentioning it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VipinLJ View Post
Also, I tried to use remote start yesterday, and it didn’t work. I had switched the car off using the start button like I always do, without shifting to P or hitting the parking brake. Usually it turns the parking brake on, but yesterday it didn’t. And there was no error message. The next time I tried I did remember to set the parking brake before exiting, and it worked. Could that be your issue too?
When you remote start and get in the car the parking brake should be on even if you didn't put the parking brake on before you left last.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 09:42 AM   #10
VipinLJ
Petrolhead
VipinLJ's Avatar
United_States
330
Rep
1,022
Posts

Drives: ‘20 330i,‘16 X3,‘18 SQ5,‘17 A7
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by premier3is View Post
When you remote start and get in the car the parking brake should be on even if you didn't put the parking brake on before you left last.
I had no idea. Let me test that out and see if that’s how it works in my car.
__________________
Current:
2020 BMW 330i xDrive
2018 Audi SQ5 Prestige
2017 Audi A7 Prestige
2016 BMW X3 xDrive28i
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 09:43 AM   #11
Burrcold
Captain
Canada
735
Rep
813
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M340i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VipinLJ View Post
I had no idea. Let me test that out and see if that’s how it works in my car.
That's how it works in my car as well. I don't have to put the parking brake on to remote start, but it automatically engages when I do.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2020, 09:51 PM   #12
G2020VISION
Enlisted Member
G2020VISION's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 20 m340ix
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 M340I X  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Medjd11 View Post
Error message pops up onscreen. Anyone know what's up or know the fix?
Try rebooting the Idrive. My remote start wasn't working via the connected app. I know that's not the same as the remote but give it a shot. Hold down the power/volume button for 20-30 seconds until I drive reboots. It definitely fixed my remote start connected drive issue on my 340
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2020, 09:26 AM   #13
vincechase
First Lieutenant
vincechase's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
338
Posts

Drives: G20 330 M Sport
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Mine was working but I tried doing it twice since I got home from my drive.

I went for another drive, came home. When I turned my car off it has a screen on to start engine and pre condition car. I believe aslong as that screen shows then you are good to go. It stays active after the car is turned off.

I then went in my house and tried first with my phone and it worked flawlessly. Then again with the remote and also worked. =)

Couldnt start it before work the next day though.
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2020, 09:47 AM   #14
Peter619
peter619
Peter619's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2019 330i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Buffalo, NY

iTrader: (0)

My car recently refused to remote start because of low exterior temperature. An error message popped up saying that, in order to conserve battery power, it would not remote start....
__________________
Peter J. Guido
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2020, 10:05 AM   #15
Burrcold
Captain
Canada
735
Rep
813
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M340i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter619 View Post
My car recently refused to remote start because of low exterior temperature. An error message popped up saying that, in order to conserve battery power, it would not remote start....
Strange. It was like minus 30 last week with the wind chill here in Toronto, and mine still remote started like a champ (thanks god).
__________________
2020 BMW M340i xDrive
2019 Audi S5 Sportback - RIP
2019 Audi S4 - Sold
2018 Audi S5 Coupe - Sold
2018 Lexus IS350 F Sport - Sold
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2020, 10:25 AM   #16
VipinLJ
Petrolhead
VipinLJ's Avatar
United_States
330
Rep
1,022
Posts

Drives: ‘20 330i,‘16 X3,‘18 SQ5,‘17 A7
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (1)

Like Burrcold and premier3is mentioned, car does remote start even when parking brake isn’t on. It sets the parking brake on. I’m assuming my car didn’t remote start that time because my phone had really low charge which I did notice but skipped my mind. It hasn’t remote started before either when my phone had real low charge (<10%). I plug in my phone in my car and by the time I get to where I want to be, it has more charge and remote start worked then.
Remote start has always worked for me even when it was -5F a few days back. I wonder how low the temperature has to be for it not to work.
__________________
Current:
2020 BMW 330i xDrive
2018 Audi SQ5 Prestige
2017 Audi A7 Prestige
2016 BMW X3 xDrive28i
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.




g20
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST